Short Courses and Conferences

2014 IEEE Conference on Reliability Science for Advanced Materials and Devices

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

September 7 - 9, 2014

2013 RSAMD Program

February 24-25, 2013, Golden, Colorado
Colorado School of Mines

Last year, the first IEEE Conference on Reliability Science for Advanced Materials and Devices (RSAMD) was held after more than a year of planning led by Conference Chair Carole Graas, and David Albin, the Technical Program Chair. The conference, which took place on February 24 and 25, 2013, was a success, with lectures, a plenary session, and a thematic session. The emphasis for the first year of this conference was to bridge the gap between traditional semiconductor and photovoltaic module reliability science. Below is a list of topics and participants from the 2013 conference. We look forward to the second edition of RSAMD.


Sarah Kurtz (NREL) – Strategies for PV Reliability: History, Progress, and Current Status

Guest Speaker

Bill Tonti (IEEE) – "IEEE Future Directions: A view into where the IEEE is headed"

Plenary Contributed Session
  • C.1 Robert Dean (Auburn University) – "A Toolbox Approach to Reliability Integrating MEMS Gyroscopes into Harsh Acoustic and Vibration Environments"
  • C.2 Wei Zhang (Hewlett-Packard) – "Critical Fault Path Management in Architecture Design"
  • C.3 Javaneh Mohseni (Georgia Institute of Technology) – "Reliability Challenges of FinFET and Other Multi-Gate MOSFETs"
Poster Session
  • P.1 Shawn Adderly (IBM) et al – "The Effect of Etch Residuals on Via Reliability"
  • P.2 David Albin (NREL) – "A Capacitance Hysteresis Measurement Technique for Predicting Voc Stability in CdS/CdTe Solar Cells"
  • P.3 Bruce Gittleman (ITN Energy Systems) – "Advanced X-Ray Diffraction Metrology as Means of Improving Semiconductor Device Reliability"
  • P.4 Mingte Lin (United Microelectronic Corp.) et al. – "Electrical Conduction Effect on Reliability of Low-k Dielectric in Cu Interconnect"
  • P.5. Mukherjee (Vanderbilt University) et al. – "Degradation Prediction for AIGaN/GaN HEMTs"
  • P.6 Prakash Perisamy (Colorado School of Mines) et al. – "Metal/Insulator Interfacial Analysis via Photoemission Spectroscopy"
  • L.1 Patrick Lenahan (Pennsylvania State University) – "The Physical and Chemical Nature of Defects Which Dominate the Bias Temperature Instability"
  • L.2 Victor Karpov (University of Toledo) – "Nonuniformity Effects on Reliability of Thin Film Photovoltaics"
  • L.3 Juan Carlos Madeni (Diamond Materials Technology, Inc.) – "Mechanical Failure Mode and Mechanisms"
  • L.4 Allen Zielnik (Atlas/Ametek) – "Environmental durability testing of terrestrial photovoltaic flat plate modules"
Luncheon Speaker

Paul Ho (University of Texas at Austin) – "Development of Reliability Physics for Microelectronics – Case Study: Electromigration in Interconnects"

Thematic Sessions
  • S1.1 Muhammad A. Alam (Purdue University) – "On the University of Negative Bias Temperature Instability"
  • S1.2 Xiaohong Gu(NIST) – "Effects of Simultaneous UV Radiation, Temperature, and Moisture on Degradation of PV Polymers"
  • S2.1 Chris Henderson (Semitracks) – "Failure Analysis Techniques for a 3D World"
  • S2.2 Corey Cochrane (Pennsylvania State University) – "A New Technique for the Study of Atomic Scale Mechanisms in Reliability Physics: Zero Field Spin Dependent Transport"
  • S3.1 Mike Stowell (ITN Energy Systems) – "Large area thin film coating disposition process compromises and theirs effects on product reliability in electronic components"
  • S3.2 Michael Kempe (NREL) – "PV Module Design Requirements"

Jim Lloyd (SUNY Albany CNSE) – "Statistics of Failure"

©2012 Colorado School of Mines  |  Copyright Information  |  Terms of Use  |  SPACE Home  |  CSM Home